Faggot

Diskuterade det slentrianmässiga användandet av ordet faggot.
Så här är mina tankar kring ordet.

Even though I give comedians a pass, I really don’t care what Louis CK, Matt Stone and Trey Parker personally think about the word. Nor how they use it in private. I don’t adjust my opinion according to what entertainers think.

You can claim all you want that the word has nothing to do with homosexuality, but you’re just kidding yourself. It’s not a coincidence that it’s the most common word gay men get thrown at them, sometimes while getting assaulted or threatened.

The word fag was adopted as a an insult descriptive for something negative because of the idea that homosexuality is bad. The word has a negative connotation because of its ties to homosexuality, and the perception that being gay is something negative. The same would never happen with the word nigger, because we respect the historical context of that word. I just think we should respect the historical context of the word faggot the same way.

Or maybe it’s because you think black men are scarier than gay men. I don’t know.

Or course anyone is completely free to disagree with me. I won’t try to convince you, and you don’t need to convince me. But since you asked, I’m just explaining where I’m coming from.

Det här inlägget postades i Laserstrålar. Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

